HANGING, lethal injection and death by firing squad are the three modes of execution which have been endorsed by the Papua New Guinean cabinet, following a report from an inter-agency committee.

The committee, which comprised a series of government agencies, has sought the advice and technical assistance of the governments of Indonesia and Thailand in selecting the execution methods.

According to reports, executions will be carried out at a facility built at Bomana Prison, outside Port Moresby.

The death penalty may be enforced against people found guilty of the crimes of treason, piracy and attempted piracy with actual violence, wilful murder, aggravated rape and robbery with violence.

There are currently 13 people who have been sentenced to death and are awaiting execution, having exhausted all appeals – with reports suggesting the sentences will be enforced later this year.

While Papua New Guinea reintroduced the death penalty in 1991, no executions have been carried out in the country since 1957.

Subsequent reports suggest that the government may step away from using the death penalty for serious crimes in light of the international backlash experienced by Indonesia over the execution of drug convicts from Brazil and the Netherlands, as well as two Australians who were alive at the time of going to press.

Speaking to the Wall Street Journal, PNG Prime Minister Peter O’Neill said the nation did not want to been to promote the death penalty as a means of enforcing law and order.

“We are actively debating the death penalty issue in the government caucuses at present and there may be some need for review,” he told the newspaper.

The news came after Papua New Guinea voted against a United Nations General Assembly resolution calling for a moratorium on executions, with a view to abolishing the death penalty across the world.

Of the 193 member states of the UN, 117 voted in favour of the resolution, while 38 voted against and 34 abstained.

This was the fifth time the General Assembly has voted on this issue– at the last vote in December 2012, 111 states voted in favour, 41 against and 34 abstained.

New votes in favour came from Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Fiji, Niger and Suriname.